Monday, 5 November 2007

Lifelong Learning Programme (LLP)

The European Commission has integrated its various educational and training initiatives under a single umbrella, the Lifelong Learning Programme. With a significant budget of nearly EUR 7 billion for 2007 to 2013, the new programme replaces the existing education, vocational training and e-Learning programmes, which ended in 2006. The new Lifelong Learning Programme enables individuals at all stages of their lives to pursue stimulating learning opportunities across Europe.
It consists of four sub-programmes:
• Comenius (for schools),
• Erasmus (for higher education),
• Leonardo da Vinci (for vocational education and training) and
• Grundtvig (for adult education).
A transversal programme complements these four subprogrammes in order to ensure that they achieve the best results. Four key activities focus on policy co-operation, languages, information and communication technologies,
effective dissemination and exploitation of project results.
Finally, the Jean Monnet programme stimulates teaching, reflection and debate on the European integration process at higher education institutions worldwide. As regards the four sectoral programmes, quantified targets have been set in order to ensure a significant, identifiable and measurable impact for the programme.
These targets are as follows:
For Comenius: to involve at least three million pupils in joint educational activities, over the period of the programme
For Erasmus: to contribute to the achievement by 2012 of three million individual participants in student mobility under the present programme and its predecessors
For Leonardo da Vinci: to increase placements in enterprises to 80,000 per year by the end of the programme
For Grundtvig: to support the mobility of 7,000 individuals involved in adult education per year, by 2013.
For more information visit:

(source: 1 November 2007 elt newsletter Vol V. No.05)